Rev. Lynn Mitchell
Incumbent, Priest & Pastor of the Anglican Churches of Quinte West
Lynn+ became part of the Anglican Quinte community in September 2017. A graduate of the Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, with a Master’s of Divinity from Trinity College U of T, she is passionate about liturgy (worship) and preaching, teaching (Christian education for children, youth and adults), and empowering congregations to be vibrant witnesses to the Good News of Jesus Christ in word and action. Lynn describes herself as a theologically liberal and progressive Christian, committed to building inclusive and welcoming Christian communities which seek to connect with and serve the broader community and beyond in the name of Jesus Christ. Lynn+ also has a graduate certificate in teaching English as a Second Language, and spent two fabulous years teaching English to Canadian newcomers, including many Syrian adults.
Lynn+ has three wonderful daughters: Laura (Dashiell), Elena, and Melanie. She celebrated thirty years of ordination in 2018, and is a passionate choral singer (a member of the Oriana Singers in Cobourg), an enthusiastic gardener,
and a lover of murder mysteries.
Rev. Canon Dr. Thora Wade Rowe
Honorary Assistant of the Anglican Churches of Quinte West
Thora+ earned a B.A. from Sir George Williams (now Concordia) University in Montreal. After two years teaching primary school, Thora+ returned to university for a Licentiate in Theology from Wycliffe College, Toronto and an honour certificate from the Anglican Women’s Training College. Thora+ was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Divinity by her Alma Mater, in recognition of her place as one of the pioneering women in ordained Ministry in the Anglican Church of Canada. Ordained for over 25 years, Thora+ was the Rector of a two-point parish in Prince Edward County for eight years and since that
time has served six interim Ministries. Thora+ is currently an Honorary Assistant in the Anglican Churches of Quinte West and is vital to many aspects of parish life. Her hobbies include taking further theological studies as well as creative writing courses, visiting with her 6 grandchildren, travelling and camping.
About our churches
The Anglican Churches of Quinte West (ACQW) was formed in 2007 when the congregations of Holy Trinity in Frankford, Christ Church in Glen Miller, and St.
George’s in Trenton came together in shared ministry, creating one vibrant Christian community, with three unique congregations, stretching from the Bay of Quinte up the beautiful Trent-Severn Waterway.
Holy Trinity, Frankford
Holy Trinity Anglican Church was built in the Village of Frankford in 1876. It is Anglican services were held prior to that date at the Methodist Episcopal Church, on the site where Frankford United Church now stands. The Rev. Canon Bleasdell and the Rev. Canon Armstrong, of St. George’s Anglican Church in Trenton, were prominent church leaders at that time. Holy Trinity was built in traditional style and pews replaced chairs in
1902. In the eastern wall of the church there is a particularly beautiful “Jesus the Good Shepherd” stained glass window.
Christ Church, Glen Miller
The congregation of Christ Church Glen Miller was established in 1843, and celebrates its 175 th Anniversary in 2018! Christ Church was built in the heart of the former Glen Miller Village, with a unique “All Things Bright and Beautiful” Baptistry stained glass window. The church is located just around the corner from the “Bleasdell Boulder”, the largest glacial erratic in North America, correctly identified and dated at 3 billion years
old, by the Rev. Canon Bleasdell, who was also a keen amateur scientist.
St. George's, Trenton
Originally a white frame structure, the present stone church was built in 1845-46 the on property chosen and donated by John Strachan, first Bishop of Upper Canada. The outer structure of the building was completed and the church opened in the same year, the interior was completed the following year. During the first two years of opening, the church was under the pastoral care of a priest from Carrying Place. In 1848, the Reverend Canon William Bleasdell was appointed the first Rector of St. George's Church and held is first service on September 3, 1850. The church is a lovely example
of 19 th century English gothic, architecture with many fine, unique stained glass windows.